Ekiti 2022 Guber Election: Tinubu Fights Whirlwind

Spread the love

Biodun Oyebanji has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti state.

Oyebanji, a former secretary to the state government (SSG), defeated other aspirants to emerge winner of the primary election on Thursday.

He polled 101,703 votes, while his closest challengers; Ojo Kayode had 767, Opeyemi Bamidele had 760 and Dayo Adeyeye polled 691 votes.

The result was announced by Mohammed Badaru, Jigawa state governor and chairman of the primary election committee.

Oyebanji will be the APC’s standard-bearer in the governorship election to be conducted on June 18 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The APC governorship candidate is an experienced public administrator who has served in at least three governments since Ekiti was created in 1996 by the late Sani Abacha.

Oyebanji served as the special adviser on parliamentary affairs in the administration of Niyi Adebayo, as former governor of Ekiti.

He was also Chief of Staff to Kayode Fayemi, the incumbent governor, in his first term.

Oyebanji is the arrowhead of Fayemi and Adebayo.

One of Mr. Bola Tinubu’s foot Soldiers, Opeyemi Bamidele, the senator representing Ekiti central, was rooted and defensively asked the APC to cancel the primary election.

He alleged that those on the primary election committee were aides of Fayemi, who he alleged would work to ensure that Oyebanji gets the APC ticket.

Seven other governorship aspirants joined Bamidele to reject the processes that threw up the victor.

The other protestants are Kayode Mojo, Demola Popoola, Femi Bamisile, Bamidele Faparusi, Dayo Adeyeye and Afolabi Oluwasola

Despite their calls for cancellation, the Ekiti chapter of the APC accepted the exercise as free, fair and credible. According to the organisers, there was a level-playing field for all aspirants.

Biodun Oyebanji polled 101,703 votes, to defeat his closest challengers; Ojo Kayode who had 767.

Tinubu’s aspirant, Opeyemi Bamidele came third with 760 votes, while Dayo Adeyeye polled 691 votes. Bamidele Faparusi, 376; Femi Bamisile, 400; Demola Popoola, 239; Olushola Afolabi came from the rear with 47.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *