Breaking: Northern Governors Ask APC to Field Southern Candidate

Spread the love

Report reaching Midwest Herald indicates that the Nigerian Northern Governors Forum have requested President Mohammed Buhari and the leadership of All Progressives Congress, APC to zone the presidential ticket to the Southern part of Nigeria.

A source imbeded in the discussion confided in Midwest Herald that the decision may favour either Vice President Yemi Osinbajo or Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of transportation.

Below is the joint statement:

Statement by Northern States’ APC Governors and Political Leaders

APC governors and political leaders from the northern states of Nigeria today met to review the political situation and to further support our Party in providing progressive leadership amidst our national challenges.

During our discussions, we welcomed President Muhammadu Buhari’s invitation to governors and other stakeholders to contribute to the emergence of a strong presidential candidate for the APC.

After careful deliberation, we wish to state our firm conviction that after eight years in office of President Muhammadu Buhari, the presidential candidate of the APC for the 2023 elections should be one of our teeming members from the southern states of Nigeria.

It is a question of honour for the APC, an obligation that is not in anyway affected by the decisions taken by another political party.

We affirm that upholding this principle is in the interest of building a stronger, more united and more progressive country.

We therefore wish to strongly recommend to President Muhammadu Buhari that the search for a successor as the APC’s presidential candidate be limited to our compatriots from the southern states.

We appeal to all aspirants from the northern states to withdraw in the national interest and allow only the aspirants from the south to proceed to the primaries.

We are delighted by the decision of our esteemed colleague, His Excellency, Governor Abubakar Badaru to  contribute to this patriotic quest by withdrawing his presidential aspiration.

The APC has a duty to ensure that the 2023 elections offer a nation-building moment, reaffirming that a democratic pathway to power exists for all who value cooperation and build national platforms.

This moment calls for the most sober and inclusive approach to selecting our party’s candidate, and we call on all APC leaders to fulfil their responsibility in this regard.

  1. Aminu Bello Masari             Governor of Katsina State
  2. Abubakar Sani Bello               Governor of Niger State
  3. Abdullahi A. Sule                      Governor of Nasarawa State
  4. Prof. B.G. Umara Zulum Governor of Borno State
  5. Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai            Governor of Kaduna State
  6. Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya    Governor of Gombe State
  7. Bello M. Matawalle                  Governor of Zamfara State
  8. Simon Bako Lalong             Governor of Plateau State
  9. Senator Aliyu Wamakko        Former Governor of Sokoto State
  10. Dr. A.U. Ganduje                      Governor of Kano State
  11. Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu Governor of Kebbi State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *