I will not Step-Down for Buhari’s Candidate – Tinubu

Spread the love


The former Governor of Lagos State, Bola Tinubu has emphatically conveyed his stance on President Mohammed Buhari’s quest for a consensus presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress Party, PDP.

Midwest Herald learnt from a member of the screening committee that Tinubu passed the message to Buhari when he attended the recently concluded APC screening committee that was chaired by a former National Chairman and first executive governor of Edo State, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.

“When we asked him, like we asked others, if he would step down for any of his contending colleagues, he said ‘yes’, but only if he would be the beneficiary of such decision.”

It will be recalled that Chief Odigie-Oyegun told journalists last Friday, June 3, 2022, while submitting his committee’s report to the APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, said that all but one aspirant agreed to accept consensus arrangement.

“We engaged every aspirant on the issue of consensus. It is a pleasant surprise that 99 per cent agreed that the party is supreme. And that whatever the party decides – with proper consultation – they will likely accept.

“Only one exception, who said I will accept consensus only if it is for me. I think it is a point that needs to be made and emphasised.” Oyegun said.

Other APC presidential aspirants are Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmad Lawan and former ministers Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio, and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.

The list of serving governors aspiring for promotion, include: Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa).

Others are former Senate President Ken Nnamani, former House of Representatives Speaker, Dimeji Bankole, and serving senators Ibikunle Amosun, Ajayi Boroffice, and Rochas Okorocha.

Pastor Tunde Bakare, Uju Ken-Ohanenye, Nicholas Felix, Ahmad Rufai Sani, Tein Jack-Rich, Ikeobasi Mokelu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *