APC Presidential Ticket: South-West Move to Stop Ameachi

Spread the love


By Editor

Minutes after leaders and governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) controlled states, rose from the last night meeting with President Mohammed Buhari, the South-West caucus moved fast to close their ranks and possibly pick a consensus candidate from Kayode Fayemi, Bola Tinubu and Yemi Osinbajo.

Our source explained that four aspirants were urged to step down during a ‘restricted’ meeting held shortly after the APC northern governors threw their weight behind a shift of power to the ‘South’.

The meeting held in Abuja at the instance of Olusegun Osoba who was also the host.

In attendance also were, Bisi Akande, Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, Gbenga Daniel, Governor Jide Sanwo-Olu and few other Yoruba leaders.

During the discussion that lasted till early hours of the morning of June 5, 2022, four aspirants were pleaded with to step down and this effectively trimmed down the number to three, leaving Tinubu, Fayemi and Osibanjo in the race.

Senator Ajayi Boroffice, Tunde Bakare, Dimeji Bankole and Senator Ibikunle Amosun stepped down due to reasons the Chief John Odigie-Oyegun screen committee used to knock-out some aspirants earlier in the now cumbersome presidential APC race.

The outcome of the first round of talks has left Governor Kayode Fayemi, Bola Tinubu and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo as the three standing aspirants from the South-West.

A follow up meeting has been planned for today, June 5, 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *